Virat Kohli’s sleeping celebration from IND vs SL final goes viral

India beat Sri Lanka comprehensively by ten wickets in the final of the Asia Cup 2023 on Sunday, September 17 at R.Premadasa Stadium, Colombo. After opting to bat first, Sri Lanka were bundled out for 50, courtesy of a sensational spell from Mohammed Siraj who picked up 6/21 in seven overs. In reply, India chased down the target in just 6.1 overs to clinch their eighth Asia Cup title.

Following the end of the game, an image of Virat Kohli calmly celebrating a wicket has been going viral all over social media. Kohli, who’s known for celebrating every wicket wildly, is seen calmly lying down on the grass with his eyes closed as India got their ninth wicket in the first innings.

The incident took place on the first ball of the 16th over as Kohli safely grabbed a catch at first slip after Hardik Pandya managed to find the outside edge of Pramod Madushan. Upon completing the dismissal, the star batter decided to celebrate in a unique manner which symbolised the proceedings for India in the first innings as they managed to bundle out Sri Lanka quickly with ease.

Coming back to the match, Siraj registered his best bowling figures in ODIs (6/21) while Jasprit Bumrah (1/23, 5 overs) and Hardik Pandya (3/3 in 2.2 overs) were also amongst the wickets. In reply, India started the innings with a new opening pair of Ishan Kishan and Shubman Gill.

Also Check: Asia Cup 2023 Winner Prize Money, Complete List of Award-Winners, Top Records & Stats – All You Need To Know

India claimed their eighth Asia Cup title

The duo came out all guns blazing and began dealing in boundaries from the first over itself. Courtesy of their aggressive approach, India chased down the target in 6.1 overs and registered their biggest win in terms of balls remaining (263 balls). Kishan remained unbeaten on 23* (18) while Gill scored 27* off 19.

As a result, India clinched their eighth Asia Cup title and continued their dominance in the continental tournament. The Men in Blue are the most successful team in the tournament’s history followed by Sri Lanka (six titles) and Pakistan (two titles).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *