‘Burst them after we win World Cup’

In the final match of the Asia Cup 2023, India emerged victorious, crushing Sri Lanka by ten wickets. India’s Mohammad Siraj stole the spotlight with his exceptional performance, earning him the Player of the Match award.

Opting to bat first, Sri Lanka had a horrible start as Indian pace bowlers led by Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj dismantled their batting lineup.  After Bumrah’s initial breakthrough, it was Siraj’s magical display of swing and pace that wreaked havoc on the Sri Lankan team, ultimately bundling them out for a mere 50 runs. Siraj’s stunning figures of 6/21 were complemented by Hardik Pandya and Bumrah, who chipped in with three and one wicket respectively.

Chasing the modest target of 51 runs, India shuffled their opening pair, with Ishan Kishan taking the role alongside Shubman Gill. The duo comfortably achieved the target in just 37 balls, securing a convincing ten-wicket victory. After the match, Indian skipper Rohit Sharma addressed the press, humorously remarking on the firecrackers outside and asking the fans to burst the firecrackers after India’s World Cup win.

“Burst them after we win the World Cup.” The video of his lighthearted comment quickly went viral.

In recognition of his remarkable performance, Siraj was awarded the Player of the Match, accompanied by a cash prize of $5000. In a heartwarming gesture, he dedicated the reward to the unsung heroes of cricket, the groundsmen, emphasizing the pivotal role they play in making tournaments like the Asia Cup possible.

The Asia Cup, despite facing multiple rain interruptions during its 16th edition, was a testament to the dedication and hard work of the ground staff and curators. ACC President Jay Shah acknowledged their efforts by presenting big prize money to these essential individuals.

As the Asia Cup 2023 concludes on a high note, Indian cricket fans eagerly await the upcoming ODI World Cup, scheduled to commence on October 5, with England and New Zealand facing off in the opening match.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *